Total number of high courts in India

The strongest judicial power at the state level rests with the High Court in the country. There are a total of 25 high courts in India, out of which seven have multiple courts. They have jurisdiction over the state, union territory or group of states. 

The oldest High Court was established in the year 1862 in Calcutta. Civil and criminal lower courts and tribunals function under the High Court. But all the High Courts are under the Supreme Court of India.


List of High Courts of India:

Court (Year of Establishment)Established actJurisdiction
Hyderabad High Court (05 July 1957)High Court Act, 1953Andhra Pradesh and Telangana
Himachal Pradesh High Court (1971)Himachal Pradesh Act, 1970Himachal Pradesh
Sikkim High Court (16 May 1975)38th Amendment to the Indian ConstitutionSikkim
Rajasthan High Court (21 June 1949)Rajasthan High Court Ordinance, 1949Rajasthan
Meghalaya High Court (23 March 2013)North Eastern Region Reorganization Act, 2012Meghalaya
Mumbai High Court (14 August 1862)High Court Act, 1861Maharashtra, Goa, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu.
High Court of Madhya Pradesh (2 January 1936)Government of India Act, 1935Madhya Pradesh
Madras High Court (5 August 1862)High Court Act, 1861Tamil Nadu, Pondicherry
Manipur High Court (25 March 2013)North Eastern Region Reorganization Act, 2012Manipur
Patna High Court (2 September 1916)Government of India Act, 1915Bihar
Punjab and Haryana High Court (15 August 1947)High Court (Punjab) Order, 1947Punjab, Haryana, Chandigarh
Delhi High Court (31 October 1966)Delhi High Court Act, 1966National Capital Territory (Delhi)
Tripura High Court (26 March 2013)North Eastern Region Reorganization Act, 2012Tripura
Jharkhand High Court (15 November 2000)Bihar Reorganization Act, 2000Jharkhand
High Court of Jammu and Kashmir (28 August 1928)Letter of Rights-Donation-Letter issued by the Maharaja of Kashmir.Jammu and Kashmir
Chhattisgarh High Court (1 November 2000)Madhya Pradesh Reorganization Act, 2000Chattisgarh
Guwahati High Court (1 March 1948)Government of India Act, 1965Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Nagaland, Mizoram
Gujarat High Court (1 May 1960)Bombay Reorganization Act, 1960Gujarat
Kerala High Court (1956)State Reorganization Act, 1956Kerala, Lakshadweep
Calcutta High Court (2 July 1862)High Court Act, 1861West Bengal, Andaman and Nicobar
Karnataka High Court (1884)Mysore High Court Act, 1884Karnataka
Uttarakhand High Court (9 November 2000)Uttar Pradesh Reorganization Act, 2000Uttarakhand
Orissa High Court (3 April 1948)Odisha High Court Order, 1948Odisha
Allahabad High Court (11 June 1866)High Court Act, 1861Uttar Pradesh
Andhra Pradesh High Court (1 January 2019)Andhra Pradesh


Must Read:- Parliament of India (Structure & Functioning)


Appointment of the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court:

All judges of the Supreme Court are appointed by the President of India in consultation with the Supreme Court. The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court essentially consults the group of four senior-most judges before advising the President in this context and advises the President on the basis of the advice received from this group. 

According to Article 124, while appointing the Chief Justice, the President will consult the judges of the Supreme Court as he wishes. At the time of appointment of other judges, he will inevitably have to accept the advice of the Chief Justice.

Article 214 of the Constitution provides for a High Court for each state. Parliament has the right under Article 231 to establish a High Court for two or more states. The High Court is declared in accordance with Article 215 of the Record Court.


Must Read:- National Movement of India 1905-1940


Qualifications of Supreme Court Judge:


  • The person is a citizen of India.

  • Must have served as a Judge of the High Court for at least five years or as a Judge in two or more courts for at least five consecutive years.

  • Have been an advocate in a High Court or Courts for ten consecutive years.

  • That person should be an eminent jurist in the opinion of the President.

  • To become a judge of the Supreme Court, it is mandatory for a judge to have five years of experience in the High Court of any state and should not have completed the age of 62 years.

Tenure of Supreme Court Judges:

The retirement age of judges of the Supreme Court of India is 65 years. Judges can only be removed by the President on the basis of a resolution passed by a two-thirds majority by both houses of parliament on the grounds of proven (impeachment) misconduct or incapacity.


Total number of high courts in India- Detailed Knowledge




Some Important Books for Competitive Exam:



For other Jobs Notification Please visit our Latest Jobs section: Click Here


Download Govt. Exams Study Contents: Click Here


Must Read is only for the Educational Purpose & Govt. Job links provider. We are not owner of any Book, Notes, Magazine, PDF Materials, eBooks Available on it, neither it been Created nor Scanned. We are only provide the link and Material already Available on the Internet. If any violates the Law or there is a Problem so Please Just CONTACT US.


People also searches for:-

total number of high courts in india

how many high courts in india 2020

how many high courts in india have jurisdiction over more than one state

states having no high courts in india

list of high courts in india and their jurisdiction

how many supreme court in india

oldest high court in india

newest high court in india


Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!